The SDBA recognizes the efforts by individuals and members stations for community service and other contributions to the State of South Dakota.  Although few receive national or local kudos, the members of the SDBA all share the solid commitment to their community and devote many, many hours working hard on their behalf.  SDBA Broadcasters know that informed listeners contribute to a viable, economically healthy town, city and even their state.

Broadcaster of the Year Award  recognizes an individual in broadcasting who has been especially active during the past year in Community Affairs.

Tom Brokaw Award is presented in conjunction with the University of South Dakota, and recognizes excellence in broadcasting especially in the areas of electronic journalism (on or off-air involvements) and public affairs.

Community Enhancement Award recognizes an important cause in your community.  Nominate a worthy project, organization, or individual that provides a significant and identifiable benefit within your listening area.  A cash prize is given to the local cause.

Gary Owens Commercial Production Awards are awarded with cash prizes each year.

Sports Broadcaster of the Year recognizes a Sports Broadcaster who has made significant contributions to the field of sports broadcasting as well as an impact on their community.

SDBA Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual whose life’s work has enriched the broadcasting industry as a whole, inspired companies, or nurtured individuals.  Current station owners and general managers are not eligible.  It’s for special employees, customers, or advocates who often work without recognition.

South Dakota Broadcasters’ HALL OF FAME inductees are chosen based on his/her distinguished professional career in South Dakota Broadcasting. The inductee has exemplified integrity, innovation, achievement, and leadership to the broadcast industry, has contributed back to the industry, and has been a positive influence on individuals within the profession and their community. The nominee may hold or have held any position within the industry.  The inductee must have reached age 50 by the date of the annual Leadership Conference.

Some efforts are recognized nationally through the NAB CRYSTAL RADIO AWARDS, which are given to the radio stations that can demonstrate a solid commitment to public service during a particular year. Awards are given in various categories, according to the size of the station.

The links above describe each Award with Nomination Forms, and list the successful recipients who have been recognized in past years.