Mike Johnson Chosen as “2016 Broadcaster of the Year”

Broadcaster of the Year16 - Johnson

Mike Johnson from KABD-FM in Aberdeen, SD was honored as the “2016 Broadcaster of the Year” by the South Dakota Broadcasters Association (SDBA) at their Annual State Leadership Conference held July 21 & 22, at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Sioux Falls.   The award is given to Broadcasters in recognition of their community service.

With 27 years in SD radio and 24 years in Aberdeen, anyone in NE South Dakota immediately recognizes Mike Johnson, “Mike in the Morning” as being synonymous with radio.  For that reason, Johnson is often the “Go To” for area groups, clubs, and organizations who seek the support of local radio for their communities. Johnson received the recognition for his work with  Safe Harbor, the Yelduz Shrine Circus, Aberdeen Area Chamber of Commerce, Salvation Army, Coats for Kids, Fraternal Order of Police, Aberdeen Boys and Girls Club, Custom Cruiser’s Car Club, Empty Bowls, United Blood Services, National Night Out, Friends From Afar, Special Olympics Polar Plunge, United Way, The Aberdeen Area Arts Council, Sizzlin’ Summer Nights Car Show, Great Aberdeen Music Festival, and Relay for Life.

The SD Broadcasters Association is a membership organization representing South Dakota’s radio and television stations. It provides education, regulatory assistance and legislative representation to its members and with them provides community service to South Dakotans.

Pictured (left to right):  Neil Lipetzky (KABD-FM President), Mike Johnson (KABD-FM, 2016 Broadcaster of the Year), Devin Reints (KABD-FM General Manager)