Tom Brokaw Award

The Tom Brokaw Award is presented each year in a cooperative effort between the SD Broadcasters Association (SDBA) and the Media & Journalism Department of the University of South Dakota. The award is presented annually at the SDBA Annual Leadership Conference.

The award recognizes excellence in broadcasting especially in the areas of electronic journalism (on or off-air involvements) and public affairs. The recipient chosen must be someone who is a native of South Dakota, or educated in South Dakota, or has made a significant contribution to South Dakota broadcasting.

The award is unique to USD and one of it’s highest honors. It is commemorated by an award to the recipient each year and by adding their name to a plaque on permanent display in the Al Neuharth Media Center at USD.

Judging is done by a panel of professionals consisting of representatives from both the SDBA and USD.

Nominations can be completed online or by filling out and returning the PDF nomination form to the SDBA Office.

ONLINE Nomination form

Nomination Form (PDF)


2022 Alicia Garcia, KOTA Territory News / KEVN Black Hills Fox, Rapid City
2021 Jody Heemstra, Dakota Radio Group, Pierre, SD
2020 No Recipient
2019 Jay Huizenga, KELOLAND Media Group, Sioux Falls
2018 Gary Matthews, KBHB-AM, HomeSlice Media Group
2017 Jim Thompson, Creative Broadcast
2016 Angela Kennecke – KELO-TV
2015 Zach Nelson – Performance Radio
2014 Tom Hanson – KDLT-TV
2013 Perry Miller, Brookings Radio
2012 Bob Faehn, KXLG Radio
2011 Dean Johnson,  KXLG Radio
2010 Marcia Burdick – Schurz Communications, Inc.
2009 Monte Loos & William F. Duhamel – Duhamel Broadcasting Enterprises, Inc.
2008 Mark Ovenden – KDLT-TV
2007 Jack Caudill – KEVN-TV
2006 Doug Lund – KELO-TV
2005 Nancy Naeve – KSFY TV
2004 Dean Sorenson – Sorenson Broadcasting
2003 J.P. Skelly – KORN / KQRN Radio
2002 Mark Millage – KELO TV
2001 Sherry Kurtz – KDLT TV
2000 Steve Hemmingsen – KELO TV
1999 John Goeman – KJAM Radio
1998 Jerry Oster – WNAX Radio
1997 No recipient
1996 Helene Duhamel – KOTA TV
1995 No recipient
1994 David J. Law – KWAT / KIXX / KDLO Radio
1993 No recipient
1992 Jim Davis – KWSN / KRRO Radio
1991 Fred Smith – KCCR / KLXS Radio
1990 Gene Hetland – KSOO / KPAT Radio
1989 William “Bill” Knutson – KOTA TV
1988 Wayne Pritchard – KSOO / KPAT Radio
1987 Robert D. Hill – WNAX Radio
1986 Thomas M. Sheeley – KELO Land
1985 Steve Hemmingsen – KELO TV
1984 Jerry Dahmen – KXRB / KIOV Radio
1983 “Stu” Steele – KIMM / KGGG Radio
1982 Abner George – KTOQ Radio
1981 Tom Brokaw – NBC News