The Tom Brokaw Award is presented each year in a cooperative effort between the SD Broadcasters Association (SDBA) and the Contemporary Media & Journalism Department of the University of South Dakota. The award is presented annually at the SDBA Annual Executive Conference.

The award recognizes excellence in broadcasting especially in the areas of electronic journalism (on or off-air involvements) and public affairs. The recipient chosen must be someone who is a native of South Dakota, or educated in South Dakota, or has made a significant contribution to South Dakota broadcasting.

The award is unique to USD and one of it’s highest honors. It is commemorated by an award to the recipient each year and by adding their name to a plaque on permanent display in the Al Neuharth Media Center at USD. Judging is done by a panel of professionals consisting of representatives from both the SDBA and USD.

Year Recipient Company
2021 Jody Heemstra Dakota Radio Group, Pierre, SD
2020 No Recipient
2019 Jay Huizenga KELOLAND Media Group, Sioux Falls
2018 Gary Matthews KBHB-AM, HomeSlice Media Group
2017 Jim Thompson Creative Broadcast
2016 Angela Kennecke KELO-TV
2015 Zach Nelson Performance Radio
2014 Tom Hanson KDLT TV
2013 Perry Miller Brookings Radio
2012 Bob Faehn KXLG Radio
2011 Dean Johnson KXLG Radio
2010 Marcia Burdick Schurz Communications
2009 Monte Loos & Bill Duhamel Duhamel Broadcasting
2008 Mark Ovenden KDLT TV
2007 Jack Caudill KEVN TV
2006 Doug Lund KELO-TV
2005 Nancy Naeve KSFY TV
2004 Dean Sorenson Sorenson Broadcasting
2003 J.P. Skelly KORN/KQRN Radio
2002 Mark Millage KELO-TV
2001 Sherry Kurtz KDLT TV
2000 Steve Hemmingsen KELO-TV
1999 John Goeman KJAM Radio
1998 Jerry Oster WNAX Radio
1997 No recipient
1996 Helene Duhamel KOTA-TV
1995 No recipient
1994 David J. Law KWAT/KIXX/KDLO Radio
1993 No recipient
1992 Jim Davis KWSN/KRRO Radio
1991 Fred Smith KCCR/KLXS Radio
1990 Gene Hetland KSOO/KPAT Radio
1989 William “Bill” Knutson KOTA-TV
1988 Wayne Pritchard KSOO/KPAT Radio
1987 Robert D. Hill WNAX Radio
1986 Thomas M. Sheeley KELO-Land
1985 Steve Hemmingsen KELO-TV
1984 Jerry Dahmen KXRB/KIOV Radio
1983 “Stu” Steele KIMM/KGGG Radio
1982 Abner George KTOQ Radio
1981 Tom Brokaw NBC News